Skip to content

Home Again, Home Again

I’m scanning the Interstudy blog here and the shock of returning home comes back again. Yup, that’s right. I’m back in the states. I’m looking through all of your posts, completely and 100% jealous that your experience continues. I had fallen in love with London, the elegant buildings, the relaxed culture, the beer…It’s a place that I could return to and live long term. In fact, I’m penciling that into my life plan as we speak.

But, for the time being, here I am. And as difficult as it is to think back on my time in London as a past tense thing rather than a present, having been there at all makes living here much more active and it makes me feel like a better citizen. Now, I can identify things I like and don’t like about life here with a vantage point of comparison. Having lived  elsewhere makes me much more analytical about my surroundings. Where before I tended to accept the pros and cons of a place as just the way things are, now, I am more likely to critique the way, for example, the public transit system works, or how education policies function. Although I’ve visited other countries, and other states, I’ve always lived in Massachusetts. Getting the heck out of the bay state was the most educational thing I’ve ever done. Now, I understand where perceptions of the United States come from, I see where stereotypes stem from and I can better combat misconceptions from the vantage point of understanding. There’s a whole other world of reality out there, and I’ve only just peaked at what it holds.

So all of you guys out there, still traveling and seeing the world, don’t worry about coming home. You’ll be fine. Your home just may seem like a totally different place. And that was precisely the point!

Also, I want to say thanks to the whole Interstudy team for making this possible! You guys are the greatest and I wish I could start from the beginning and do it again!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

